Reflections on the first week

Hi everyone! My name is Courtney, and I am a rising sophomore at Duke University studying Economics and Statistics. I am very excited to be participating in DukeEngage Durham this summer!

In Durham, North Carolina, I am working with the Durham Literacy Center’s Youth Education Program. As a YEP intern, I spend my mornings tutoring students in math, science, language, and social studies as they prepare their GED/HiSET tests. In the afternoons, I am developing a transitions program centered around Career and College Readiness. Basically, I am gathering and creating a series of modules that students can use to prepare for life after their GED, whether that be through job applications, college studies, or even just basic life skills like financial literacy or computer skills.

I’ve now been working at my site for a little over a week. It’s been really cool getting to work one-on-one with students through tutoring, because it gives me context in which to develop the transitions modules. I’m going to begin working with students on the transitions project next week through a series of career interest inventories and goal setting activities that I have gathered to help students progress towards the next step in their educations and careers.

Outside of my workplace, it has been exciting to explore places around Durham with my group. This past weekend, we went to the Duke Homestead, where we toured the farm and learned how Washington Duke and his family significantly impacted Durham and its economy. While I had heard random information about the Duke family before, it was fascinating to see just how much influence one family had on the development of Durham as a city.

I am looking forward to working at the Durham Literacy Center and exploring the city of Durham over the next few weeks as I get out of the “Duke bubble.”

 

 

Photo by Anya Bali

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jim says:

    I couldn’t resist commenting. Perfectly written!

    Like

Leave a Reply

